A Thanksgiving Conversation

thanksgiving dinner

This past Thanksgiving I had a quiet moment, one-on-one, with my fifth-grade grandson before everyone descended for dinner. He transferred this year from a private Christian school to public.

“How do you like your new school?” I asked as I stirred the gravy.

“I like some classes, but some of my teachers take the Lord’s name in vain every day.”

“Really. That’s strange.”

“Some of the kids there have some really wacky ideas. At lunch the other day one girl told me in another life I used to be a tree. I told her I wasn’t.”

“Well, honey, I don’t think it’s any mistake God saw to it that you went to public school this year. I think you’re there to plant some seeds for Jesus.”

“You think so, Grandma?”

“I know so!”

About Sally Jadlow

Sally Jadlow writes true inspirational short stories, historical fiction, and poetry. Her ten books are available on Amazon.com at  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B007F5H0H4  . She serves as a chaplain to corporations in the greater Kansas City area. She also teaches and speaks on creative writing. Contact her at SallyJadlow.com
This entry was posted in Faith, Jesus, Prayer, Uncategorized, Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

