Salt in Dung Fire

fire.2 Words from a video lingered in my mind: “God calls us to be salt. In ancient times, salt was added to animal droppings to make the fire hotter.”
Those words came from a video entitled Focus on the Family’s That the World May Know series. This series is taught by Ray VanderLaan, an excellent Bible teacher.

As I thought about VanderLaan’s statement, I questioned why anyone would want to make a fire hotter.

• To make fire more efficient and thus use less fuel. (Even today, animal droppings are often used for fuel when wood is scarce.)
• To make a fire hot enough to melt iron to fashion tools.
• To melt silver and gold to burn off the impurities.

There are times today when I feel as though I’ve been scattered into animal droppings when I look at the world around me. As I meditated on this fact, the Holy Spirit’s questions began to come.

Am I bringing the warm love of Jesus to those who are freezing without His fire?

Am I living my life in such a way that God can melt iron hearts into useful tools?

Am I worthy of my salt in God’s eyes, to make His refining fire hot enough to effectively remove the dross He sees in our world?

Lord Jesus, cause each salt-bearer to step willingly into Your revival fires so we burn white-hot to accomplish Your desired result.

About sallyjadlow

Sally Jadlow serves as a chaplain to corporations in the greater Kansas City area. Her books are available here. She also teaches creative writing. Sally writes true inspirational short stories, poetry, and historical fiction.She also loves to cook. She teaches creative writing and speaks to young and old. Sally is the wife of one, mother of four, and grandmother of fourteen. Her website is http://.SallyJadlow.com
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salt in Dung Fire

  1. I see His light in your eyes and feel His heart in your words…love you, Sally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

