Highflying Zip-line

20130126_123206Before taking off for our cruise, I followed the online instructions about what to do before leaving home. I carefully made out the list of activities which I intended to do while on board the Royal Caribbean’s Allure of the Seas.

 Ride the wave-runner
 Ice skate
 Climb the rock-climbing wall
 Ride the zip-line

Aboard ship, the day finally came when we weren’t in a port and I made my way through the line to get into the required helmet and harness for the zip-line ride high above the deck of the 17 story vessel. The attendant snapped the final clip to the safety harness and I stepped off the platform for my long-awaited ride.

About half way across I felt I couldn’t hang on any longer. What was I going to do? Then I realized I had a safety harness to hold me to the line. I relaxed and let the harness support me while I sped to the other side.

Is this not a picture of faith? When our hang-on is gone, we have to let go and let God carry us. Psalm 55:22 says, “Cast your burden on the Lord and He will sustain you;” That word sustain in Hebrew is “to contain, hold in, endure.”

That reminds me of a poem I wrote once. It appears in my Daily Walk with Jesus devotional book written with Arythe Kolb. It goes like this:

Lord Jesus, my place of safety,
my strength-giver;
even when my hang on is gone and all seems lost,
whisper Your reassurance in my ear
and make me aware of Your presence.

About sallyjadlow

Sally Jadlow serves as a chaplain to corporations in the greater Kansas City area. Her books are available here. She also teaches creative writing. Sally writes true inspirational short stories, poetry, and historical fiction.She also loves to cook. She teaches creative writing and speaks to young and old. Sally is the wife of one, mother of four, and grandmother of fourteen. Her website is http://.SallyJadlow.com
This entry was posted in Assurance, Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

